BioChemistry: Cell Biology and Radioactivity

What negatively affects biodiversity more?

a) human settlement

b) massive nuclear fallout

The article in this link, wolves of chernobyl, doesn’t answer this question though it does expose some very surprising phenomena. I could paraphrase, but instead I suggest reading the article, which includes some beautiful pictures of animals thriving in the exclusion area around Chernobyl.

 


 

I once read a fascinating article. If I remember correctly it was by a virologist who insisted that viruses should not all belong to the same scientific order, but are rather all very different organisms who simply share obligatory intracellular parasitism as a survival strategy.  From what I remember, he took the position that virus’ structure was not enough to warrant classifying them into one order and that they were actually very diverse in behavior and structure.  But I might be being creative with my memory. If only I could find that article…

 

Leave a comment